Tuesday, May 12, 2015

And now for my next trick...

Hello, kittens,

So in last-month's post, I alluded to being too busy right now with the writing. So what I was talking about is me writing as myself again. I know. That's a confusing sentence. Let me explain.

My pen name is Bridget Midway. I've been writing under that name for ten years now. However, my real name, and the name I used when I first got published, even before I started writing as Bridget Midway, is Crystal B. Bright. Yep, that is a real name. Under that name, I wrote contemporary interracial romances. Almost Harlequin like. Definitely no spanking or whipping. No one gets tied down to a bed or anything. Still some hot sex. But that happens later.

I started writing under that name in the early 2000s. I published three stories under my real name before I switched over to the naughty stuff. A couple of years ago, I started feeling restless. I wanted to get back to writing what I originally started to write, which was hot romances. I had this idea of these three men, all brothers, and all athletes.

I've always loved seeing a buff guy doing girly stuff for a good reason. Like I dig movies like "The Game Plan" or "The Tooth Fairy" or "The Pacifier." Nothing makes me go awww faster than to see a guy like Dwayne "The Rock" Johnson at a tea party with little girls for his daughter's sake.

So I wanted that same feel in what I called my Mama's Boys series. The other thing I find sexy in men is how well they treat their mothers. The concept of the series would be this: the three brothers, an MMA fighter, a NFL quarterback and a MLB pitcher, are adopted by an African-American woman who owns three businesses, a hair salon, a flower shop and a clothing boutique. When the mother falls ill, the three brothers have to come home to not only take care of her, but also her businesses.

The first book in the series is The Look of Love. It's available on Amazon right now for pre-order, and will be released on June 23, 2015. I can't wait!

Here's the blurb:

You can’t fight love…
 There’s only one thing MMA fighter Gunnar Wells is more devoted to than his career, and that’s his mother, “Queen” Elizabeth. An elegant African American woman who adopted Gunnar and his two white brothers, Elizabeth was there when they needed her, and they’ll do anything for her. For Gunnar, that means running her hair salon when she suddenly falls ill. And if that’s not awkward enough for the champion fighter, he’ll have to work alongside Eboni Danielson, the other love of his life. The one he left behind to pursue his dream. The one he’s never forgotten…

Between the salon and her volunteer work, Eboni keeps busy to keep her mind off the man who broke her heart. So when Gunnar shows up again, she does her best to stay cool—on the outside. But the more she watches Gunnar step up and help out, the less she can deny her feelings. Soon Gunnar is doing everything he can to convince Eboni to give him a fighting chance. Can she trust him again—even when old secrets and new dangers come between them once more?

The second book in the series will be Forget Me Not.  This story will be about the middle brother, Gideon Wells, and his struggles on the football field, with running his mother's flower shop, and with a sexy competing flower shop owner, Janelle Gold. That book will be out February 2016.

The third book in the series is Head Over Heels. The final book is about the baby of the family, Thane Wells. He's dealing with his baseball career, attempting to run the clothing boutique, which he doesn't want to do, and trying to reconnect with his brothers.

I hope you all like the series as much as I loved writing it. And speaking of writing, I need to go and do some of that now.

Stay sexy,


Keep reading,



  1. Very cool premise with the brothers needing to care for their mom and her businesses. Looking forward to this one!

  2. Wow, I love the premise of this series. Very unique. No matter your identity we love your writing, so keep it up!

  3. Thank you so much, Reese and Kianna. I'm excited about the series.